Horror

Horror fiction is fiction in any medium intended to scare, unsettle, or horrify the audience. Historically, the cause of the "horror" experience has often been the intrusion of a supernatural element into everyday human experience. Since the 1960s, any work of fiction with a morbid, gruesome, surreal, or exceptionally suspenseful or frightening theme has come to be called "horror". Horror fiction often overlaps science fiction or fantasy, all three of which categories are sometimes placed under the umbrella classification speculative fiction.

Elevation
Sawkill Girls
Dracul
Blood Communion (The Vampire Chronicles, #13)
Little
Alice Isn't Dead
The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow
In the House in the Dark of the Woods
The Labyrinth Index (Laundry, Files #9)
Villain (Monster #2)
The Darkdeep (The Darkdeep, #1)
Where She Fell
Limetown: The Prequel to the #1 Podcast
The Bus on Thursday
The World of Lore: Dreadful Places
  • The Looking Glass by H.L. Sudler
    The Looking Glass: Tales of Light and Dark
    by
    Release date: Nov 11, 2018
    Enter for a chance to win one of 20 advance copies of H.L. Sudler's new book, The Looking Glass: Tales of Light and Dark, a collection of eleven spook ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 30 copies available, 800 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 14 - Nov 21, 2018

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Redeemer by M.C.  Glan
    The Redeemer (The Temple Of Empia Saga, #2)
    by
    Release date: Nov 23, 2018
    Enter for a chance to win an advance copy of The Redeemer, the second book in the Temple Of Empia Saga!

    This dark fantasy story continues after book on
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 137 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 15 - Nov 22, 2018

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Seven Days by Patrick Senécal
    Seven Days
    by
    Release date: Jan 01, 2019
    Enter for the chance to win 1 of 5 advance reader's copies of SEVEN DAYS by Patrick Senecal.

    For fans of Stephen King’s Misery and Jo Nesbø’s The Snow
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 360 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 12 - Nov 24, 2018

    Countries available: Canada

  • Elevation
    Daughters of the Lake
    Stillhouse Lake (Stillhouse Lake, #1)
    Behind Closed Doors
    The Outsider
    The Grownup
    The Sleep Tight Motel (Dark Corners collection)
    Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #1
    The Ocean at the End of the Lane
    In a Dark, Dark Wood
    City of Ghosts (Cassidy Blake, #1)
    The End of Temperance Dare
    Hunted
    The Retreat
    Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #6
    1984 by George OrwellDracula by Bram StokerAmerican Gods by Neil GaimanFrankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft ShelleyThe Complete Stories and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe
    Quality Dark Fiction
    1,904 books — 2,191 voters
    Twilight by Stephenie MeyerHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingInterview with the Vampire by Anne RiceVampire Academy by Richelle MeadCity of Bones by Cassandra Clare
    Vampires and Werewolves and Witches...Oh My!
    1,622 books — 3,012 voters


    The Shining (The Shining, #1)
    It
    Dracula
    Carrie
    Frankenstein
    'Salem's Lot
    The Stand
    Pet Sematary
    Misery
    The Haunting of Hill House
    World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
    Interview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles, #1)
    Cujo
    Doctor Sleep (The Shining, #2)
    Needful Things

    Darren Shan
    Darren Shan City of the Snakes (The City Trilogy, #3)
    His Favorite Horror: The master of macabre shares his favorite works of terror just in time for his new noir fantasy, City of the Snakes.
    More Good Minds Suggest…
    Chuck Palahniuk
    Most of the laugh tracks on television were recorded in the early 1950’s. These days, most of the people you hear laughing are dead.
    Chuck Palahniuk

    Stephen King
    Wendy? Darling? Light, of my life. I'm not gonna hurt ya. I'm just going to bash your brains in.
    Stephen King, The Shining

    More quotes...
    The Never Ending TBR Book Club Welcome! We are so glad that you are here! This group is for any and all bibliophiles who are lo…more

    292 members, last active 18 hours ago

    Challenge Corner There is at least one reading challenge within the group per month as well as quarterly reading…more

    1,134 members, last active a moment ago

    EVERYONE Has Read This but Me - The Catch-Up Book Club Click HERE for the latest group announcements. "It reminded me of ____ but in space." "I read _…more

    9,631 members, last active 20 minutes ago

    Addicted to YA “One must always be careful of books," said Tessa, "and what is inside them, for words have the…more

    28,495 members, last active 44 minutes ago

    The True Meaning of Night
    5 chapters — updated May 14, 2015 03:30AM — 57 people liked it
    Essay - 20 Greatest Horror Writers, rebuttal
    4 chapters — updated Apr 19, 2012 06:20AM — 29 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: horror, classic-horror, fiction_speculative_horror, horror-classics, horror-fiction, and horror-literature